Glossybox July 2014 Review & Unboxing

Well, this is interesting! It appears that the Glossybox July 2014 Spoilers that members received via email weren’t entirely accurate. I assume that something came up RE: distribution and that’s why we didn’t receive products from Nailgirls London or The Aloe Source. While I was really interested in the nail polish, I have to say that I’m honestly not upset about this development: I absolutely love all the products that I ended up receiving!

July 2014 Glossybox

First of all, apologies for the washed-out look of all the images. It’s overcast and my Kindle Fire’s camera really doesn’t do well with anything but the natural light of a sunny day! I tried to balance the colors so that they look closer to how they are IRL, but you can tell that everything still looks a tad ghostly. Sorry!

As always, the Glossybox comes in cute pink boxes with tissue-and-confetti packaging, topped up with a pretty ribbon. Part of the appeal of these boxes is the care they put into their packaging, it always feels like you’re opening a beautiful gift!

Unboxed July 2014 GLOSSYBOX

As you can see, this month it was a makeup-free box. I think that’s a refreshing change, since to be honest – I can only use so many eyeliners at a time, you know! I personally find that when the boxes feature more skincare, body care, and hair care items, I tend to be happier overall. I like playing with makeup and all, but skincare stuff is my first love when it comes to beauty.

Want a closer look at the products in this month’s box? Click the read more to see my full Glossybox July 2014 review & unboxing!

July 2014 Glossybox Information Card

Here’s a close-up of the information card. The cards always give a little promo spiel about each product as well as the cost of the full-sized version of the item.

So let’s check out this month’s goodies, one-by-one!

Malin + Goetz Mojito Lip Balm

First up is the (MALIN + GOETZ) Mojito Lip Balm. This balm actually applies like a typical squeeze-tube gloss, but it absorbs like a balm and doesn’t feel sticky. It’s nicely hydrating and the scent is light enough to be inoffensive, yet strong enough that you definitely can tell it’s mojito scented. It smells exactly like the Mint Mojito flavor of Orbit gum, if you ever had the chance to try that before it was discontinued – RIP, by the way. I usually hate gum but that flavor was really good!

Full ingredients list:
Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer, Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Tricaprylin, Benzyl Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance (Parfum), Limonene, Citral, Bisabolol.

CosDNA reports that the only troublesome ingredient is Ethylhexyl Palmitate, which scores a 4 for acne and 1 for irritation. While I haven’t experienced any problems yet, I tend to be really careful not to let my lip product wander past my lipline because I AM prone to irritation/clogs there due to lipbalms. So keep that in mind if you have similar issues!

Glamglow Tinglexfoliate

Next is the GLAMGLOW Youthmud Tinglexfoliate Treatment. I actually haven’t tried this yet as I was still working on finishing up my sample of the Supermud Clearing Treatment by the same brand. I’ll probably review them both in one Sample Stash Quickie post sometime soon.

Full ingredients:
Aqua (Water), Montmorillonite (Volcanic Minerals), Kaolin (French Sea Clay), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate (Purified Clay), Polyethylene, Pumice (Micro Volcanic Rock), Camellia Sinensis Leaf (Green Tea Leaf), Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract (Green Tea), Chamomilla Recutita Flower Extract (Chamomile), Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract (Marigold), Cucumis Sativus Fruit Extract (Cucumber), Hedara Helix Extract (Ivy), Symphytum Officinale Leaf Extract (Comfrey Herb), Lavandula Hybrida Oil (Lavender), Glycerin (Vegetable), Parfum, [Benzyl Benzoate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Linalool], Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone.

RELATED:  My Cute Wishlist 2 Memebox Review & Unboxing

This looks pretty good, only issue is Hexylene Glycol with a 2 for acne and 1 for irritation. However, since this is a wash-off and not a sleeping mask, hopefully that won’t be too bad when I give it a try – after all, my skin sucks at exfoliating itself naturally, so this product sounds verrrrrry interesting.

pH Restorative Detangling Toning Mist

The Philip B. pH Restorative Detangling Toning Mist is certainly an interesting sounding product! Here’s the sales pitch:

“Like a facial toner, this fine liquid mist removes unwanted residue (like mineral deposits) from the hair and leaves a fresh, beautiful finish. Lighter than regular conditioners, its apple cider vinegar and essential oils detangle hair and seal its cuticle, leaving hair with loads of shine. And don’t worry, the vinegar scent vanishes in minutes!”

I do have hard water where I live, as well as super fine oily hair that’s prone to both build-up and tangling, so this is definitely relevant to my interests. I’ve used it a few times so far and while the vinegar scent is definitely weird at first, they’re being honest about how quickly it dissipates, thank goodness! I haven’t noticed a huge difference yet in my hair’s shine and texture, but I’ll keep using it and report back later.

Ingredients:
Water (Aqua), SD Alcohol 40 B, Amodimethicone, Tallowtrimonium Chloride, Nonoxynol 10, Apple Cider Vinegar, Polysorbate 20, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Jojoba Oil, Walnut (Juglans Regia) Seed Oil, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Oil, Peanut Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Geranium Maculatum (Geranium) Oil, Ylang Ylang, Gardenia Oil, BHT

There’s obviously a lot of ingredients that can clog pores in here, but since this is made for your hair, just don’t spray it too close to your hairline and you should be okay.

Mitchell & Peach Body Cream

While the Mitchell & Peach Body Cream is intended for body, I’ve actually only been using it on my hands. The cream applies smoothly, but it absorbs so quickly that I feel like I’d barely get my legs covered with this sample! Using it as a hand cream has been very effective, though. My mother and I both tried this – she’s a nurse who has to wash her hands constantly – and we both found it really impressive. The texture is fantastic and it’s very hydrating. The smell is not artificial, it comes from the ingredients themselves. To me, the honey is the most noticeable scent, with lavender as the other star. It’s pleasant and not too strong at all. I’d repurchase this as a staple hand cream if it wasn’t $60 per tub! That’s just too steep for me, personally.

Ingredients:
Aqua (Water), Cetearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Prunus dulcis (Sweet Almond Oil), Butyrospermum parkii (Shea Butter), Mel (Honey), Theobroma cacao (Cocoa Butter), Phenoxyethanol, Glycerin, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Lavandula angustifolia (Lavender Oil), Rosa centifolia (Rose Extract), Vanilla planifolia (Vanilla Extract), Viola odorata (Sweet Violet Extract), Ethylhexlglycerin, Cocos nucifera (Coconut Oil), Xanthan Gum, Cananga odorata (ylang ylang Oil), Cymbopogon martini (Palmarosa Oil), Geraniol, Citronellol, Limonene, Linalool.

SkinInc Custom-Blended Serum - Brightening

The most exciting product in this box, in my opinion, is the Skin Inc Brightening Serum. Apparently there were three different variations that were custom-blended exclusively for this GLOSSYBOX. Jennifer got the Anti-Aging version and raved about it; the last option was a Soothing variant but I’ve yet to find anyone who received this kind and has blogged about it already. If you did, please comment and tell me so I can link to your review here!

RELATED:  #30 Tea Cosmetics Memebox Review & Unboxing

I definitely have issues with dullness (it stems from my aforementioned issue with my skin not exfoliating itself well enough on its own), so I’m really happy that I got the Brightening variant. I’ll give this one a proper review after I’ve used it up – I’m currently introducing a new skincare product already, so I’m going to wait on trying this serum until I’m satisfied that my new Holika Holika Vita Complex 3-Second Starter isn’t going to have any ill effects. I don’t like to use multiple new products at once because it makes it a pain to figure out which reactions (if any) come from which product, you know?

Ingredients:
Aqua, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid, Retinyl Palmitate, Corn (Zea Mays)Oil, Carbomer, Algin, Alcaligenes Polysaccharides, Polysorbate 80, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Pueraria Lobata Root Extract, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide, Cobalt Aluminum Oxide, Potassium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol.

The star ingredients of this serum are Retinyl Palmitate, Hyaluronic Acid, and Chlorella extract. I like Vitamin A in my skincare as it definitely helps my skin texture dramatically, so that’s a big plus. However, I am slightly apprehensive about Algin’s presence, as it gets a 4 for both acne and irritation at CosDNA. I hope that it doesn’t bother me too much, but we’ll see.

Overall, I think that this was an absolutely fantastic box. If you calculate the sample sizes compared to the full sized product’s prices, this box comes out to being just shy of a $100 value. That’s pretty damn good on the bang-for-your-buck scale since Glossybox starts at $21 per month (you get a bigger discount if you subscribe to multiple months at once; I pay ahead for a year at a time which brings it down to $18 per box.

If you’re interested in trying Glossybox, new subscribers can get a free Ciate nail polish by entering the code “CIATE” when they sign up. I got a gorgeous Ciate polish in a past box (Beach Hut, a really pretty orangey-bronze shimmer) and I was really impressed by it, so this is a pretty good code IMO!

As covered in the site disclaimer, affiliate links are present in this post – thanks a ton if you use any of them to make purchases!

 

 

Share This Post

Comment Via

Comments

July 26, 2014
Thanks so much for including me as one of your related posts, I really appreciate it! Love this post particularly how you detail all the ingredients the good and the bad ;) xoxo
July 26, 2014
No problem :D I love the little related posts feature, helps me find fun blogs - like yours - to read :3 And yeah, I'm partially doing it because I have a terrible memory and I think this will help me keep track of which ingredients end up being bad for my skin... since I was already doing it for myself, figured I might as well add it to the posts in case it was helpful to anyone else!

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...